

PUBLIC SAFETY WORKING GROUP

The Public Safety Working Group (PSWG) was established to serve in an advisory capacity to the Chief of Police and Deputy Chief of Police for the purpose of reviewing current events involving Police agencies, practices and procedures of the Police Department, and making recommendations where appropriate.

MEMBERSHIP:

The PSWG will be comprised of 16 regular members for terms of up to 2 years (terms not applicable to permanent Police Department members). Initial lengths of service will be made for one or two years to facilitate staggered terms such that approximately one-half the appointments will expire each year. The membership will consist of the following: faculty; staff members; administrators and student representatives (dependent upon discussions with the SGA).

MEMBER RESPONSIBLITIES:

- Attend 75% of Working Group meetings;
- Makes a commitment to actively participate in discussions;
- Stays current on matters related to policing both nationally and in higher education;
- Represents a segment of the organization to ensure that all perspectives are considered;
- Screens suitable candidates with Chair and recommends suitable individuals based on criteria set by Chair;
- Ensures new members receive proper orientation and necessary training (if needed).

WORKING GROUP CHAIR - CHIEF ROBERT BARROWS

CHAIR RESPONSIBILITIES:

- Is a member of the working group;
- Defines expected outcomes from the working group and takes action to work towards said outcomes;

- Develops meeting agendas based on current events and input from other working group members;
- Leads all working group meetings;
- Delegates assignments based on meeting discussions;
- Develops selection criteria to be used in recruiting new members;
- Keeps working group informed of activities and initiatives taken on by the Police Department;
- Enacts reasonable initiatives from the working group within the Police Department.

WORKING GROUP VICE CHAIR – DEPUTY CHIEF MATT SHEDDEN

VICE CHAIR RESPONSIBILITIES:

- Is a member of the working group;
- Performs Chair's responsibilities when he/she cannot be available;
- Works collaboratively with working group Chair to develop and implement plans and ideas from the working group;
- Makes a two (2) year commitment.

WORKING GROUP SECRETARY - KRISTINE LARKIN - ACADEMIC COORDINATOR

SECRETARY RESPONSIBILITIES:

- Maintains records of the working group meetings and ensures effective management of organization's records;
- Is a member of the working group committee;
- Manages minutes of working group meetings;
- Ensures minutes are distributed to members shortly after each meeting;
- Prepares and forwards notices of meetings of the working group;
- Monitors the attendance and involvement of working group members in activities and reports;
 findings to the working group Chair;
- Makes a two (2) year commitment.

WORKING GROUP FUNCTIONS:

In the performance of its duties, it is expected that the PSWG will meet three (3) times per semester. At the special request any Board member, the PSWG may meet at additional times during the year for purposes as may be specified. The PSWG shall receive information regarding the Police Department training, practices, and procedures, including policies governing the use of force, and general data and information about complaints filed with the Police Department, and citation statistics. The PSWG should prepare an annual

report for the Chief of Police and the College President, containing an account of the working group's activity and initiatives for the preceding year, and making recommendations where necessary and appropriate.

CURRENT WORKING GROUP MEMBERSHIP:

GROUP CHAIR - Robert Barrows, Executive Director and Chief of Police **GROUP VICE-CHAIR** - Matthew Shedden, Deputy Chief of Police & Director of Operations **GROUP SECRETARY** - Kristine Larkin, Academic Coordinator Single Stop

Naoko Akai-Dennis - Assistant Professor English Department

Misael Carrasquillo - Special Programs Coordinator Veterans Center

Roberto Carvajal - Senior Special Programs Coordinator Community Based Initiatives

Cheryl Cephas - Associate Director Human Resources

Christopher Desautel - Campus Police Officer III

David Kim Brady - SGA President

Jean-Dany Joachim - Administrative Assistant II

Lateia Johnson – Professor – Health Science Division

Proshot Kalami - Professor English Department

Paul Kasili - Professor, Biology and Chemistry Department

Carmen Magana - Language Lab Coordinator Academic Support & College Pathways Prog.

Carlos Maynard - Associate Professor Behavioral Science Department

Deborah Schwartz - Associate Professor English Department